WIAW – Chicken Salad & Broccoli Cheese Soup!

Eeeek! I am getting behind here y’all! Things have been busy this week… our swim team banquet is tomorrow and I’ve been running around like a madwoman trying to get everything organized and ready in time. Decorations, RSVPS, awards, writing a speech, making a program… this list goes on! Let’s just add on the fact that my toddler’s incisors are growing in and she is not a happy camper. She consoles herself by chewing on metal objects. Poor girl must be in pain 😦 I am ready to be done with teething.

Breakfast took a turn for the savory this morning. 2 scrambled eggs (which I formed into a patty… this is a good trick!) on potato bread toast with butter. A ripe and juicy pear on the side. I also had some of the baby’s toast since she decided it looked better on the floor.20140408-141505.jpg

Then it was off to yoga! Clearly breakfast was not enough because I was straight up starving when I got back. Good thing I already had my delicious chicken salad prepared in advance! My chicken salad sandwich (featuring potato bread again) was gone in about 5 seconds. I also snacked on some carrots and fresh mozzarella slices (so good. SO good.)

20140408-141516.jpg

Not gonna lie, my chicken salad gets some pretty rave reviews. I don’t have a recipe per se, but here’s what goes into it:

  • Cooked, shredded chicken. (Use bone-in skin-on chicken breasts. Simmer in chicken or vegetable broth along with some dried celery flakes and bay leaves. Cook at LEAST one hour… you want it to be very tender. Make sure it is just simmering and not boiling, or the chicken will be tough and dry.) Once cooked, allow to cool with bone and skin still intact, THEN shred it.)
  • Finely chopped celery
  • Chopped pecans
  • Craisins
  • Celery Salt
  • Pepper
  • Onion Powder
  • Hellman’s REAL mayonnaise
  • Full-fat or lowfat plain yogurt (use more mayo than yogurt… but the yogurt is still important for the “tang”)

After lunch I had a killer smoothie/milkshake. Cocoa, peanut butter, frozen banana, yogurt, almond milk, and ice. <—This flavor combo works for so many different things! I had some spinach I needed to use up and thought about adding it to the smoothie. But I was like “mehhh then it might not taste like dessert!” so I left it out. Today has not been very veggie-licious. It happens.

20140408-141528.jpg

Today WAS very snackalicious. Lazy = cereal and chocolate chips.

 

20140408-141540.jpg

Yet another snack for the day was some leftover chicken dipped in the best. condiment. of. all. time.  Mrs. Balls chutney!  (Ms. J knows what I’m talkin bout, right??)  It’s a sauce that they use on all kinds of stuff in South Africa.  We bring home a few bottles every time we visit.  Sadly this is our last one 😦

 

20140408-144343.jpg

For dinner, I really wanted Panera for some reason, so I decided to recreate it at home.  It was a MAJOR success guys.  I used this recipe for broccoli cheese soup made from scratch.  It was divine, and I’m so proud of myself for not burning the roux.  It was warm cheesy goodness!  We also baked an (unpictured) loaf of french bread which soaked up all the delicious soup.  I also paired it with a side salad (homemade dijon balsamic dressing, baby romaine, cucumbers, red onions, gala apples, and pecans).

20140409-065803.jpg

It was nice to finally have a low key sort of night.  After the baby went to bed, we watched 2 episodes of Revolutions on Netflix while snacking on yogurt + granola + chocolate chips.  I must be getting old if this is my kind of night. Ha!  We’ve been doing lots of social things lately – here is the evidence – me wearing MAKEUP… for like probs the 3rd time this whole year.  Big accomplishment!

20140404-162449.jpg

So sometimes it’s nice to be introverted for a little while!

What do you like to order at Panera?

What’s your favorite kind of soup?

Do you like to wear makeup?

What are you watching on Netflix right now?

5 thoughts on “WIAW – Chicken Salad & Broccoli Cheese Soup!

  1. I so wish you had recipes included in your posts! Everything always looks so yummy and I am no good with improvising at all. I need cooking/baking for dummies! I am so astonished and envious that you are able to digest all your foods without tummy pains, gi upsets. I am dairy and gluten free and no raw veggies and only blueberries for fruits and I ache all day long with a heating pad on my tummy. I have constipation, spasms, pains….always the pain. Maybe I’ve had my ED for just too long??? Not repairable by this time? 😦 Decades now. 😦 I think I am giving up.

    • I am a failure at making and sticking to recipes! I can’t seem to control myself… I tweak literally everything! My improv cooking has improved with LOTS of practice. And I do really have GI upset – I just don’t talk about it every single time I do. I am trying not to blame foods but rather eat everything and give my gut a chance to heal from simply eating ENOUGH food. People have fully recovered from ED when they are inches from death! You need to give it your all – and don’t compare your recovery to others! It’s difficult but not impossible! I would seriously recommend giving the MinnieMaud method a real shot. I know it’s a huge thing to adapt to, but what do you have to lose? The people on the Your Eatopia forums have seem it all and they are so so helpful when you are hurting! Reach out to them for advice! You can do this! I will be praying for you, Beth.

  2. You should have invited me for that gorgeous dinner..I would have brought along a case of Mrs Balls 😉 . Do you know there’s a potato chip made to that flavor!?
    I’m intrigued by this potato bread..its made from potatoes??
    I love make up but I don’t like wearing it often myself. Like you, I don’t feel like I NEED it every day and I like to keep that element of applying it when the occasion calls 🙂

    • We’d have loved to have you over for dinner Ms J! Haha every time we’re about to come home it’s like “okay, how many bottles can we fit in our suitcase without making it overweight?” And I’m assuming the potato bread is made with (partially) potato flour… But that loaf is history now so I can’t be sure!

Leave a Reply

