Weekend Musings + A Mini Progress Check

HOW BOUT THEM CATS?!?!?!

This weekend was full of basketball, good friends, and good times!  Kentucky is headed to the Final Four and Lexington is getting crazier by the minute.

On Friday we went to a friends house and grilled out burgers (with the free ground beef I scored!).  We topped them with cream cheese and sweet chili sauce… ok I know, sounds like the weirdest burger topping EVER but it was SOOOO GOOOOD!  We then put the baby to bed upstairs and sat around the fire pit talking about randomness until the game started at 9:45.  Somehow in the conversation, I opened up to my friends about my hormonal problems/infertility and my need to gain weight.  I’ve always been a very private person about things like this, but I can’t tell you how good it feels to actually talk about that stuff to real people!  Their reactions were much more positive than I was expecting and I feel kinda stupid for trying to hide stuff all the time.  I once heard at church that we intimidate others with our strength and connect to others with our weaknesses.  What a great example of how true this is!

Saturday was supposed to be the day of my big half marathon race.  I was registered and everything.  This was definitely one of my biggest obstacles to committing to full recovery… I just really didn’t want to let this race go.  But I did.  And the world is still turning.  On the bright side, I still got to go to the race as a volunteer.  The swim team I coach used it as a fundraising opportunity, so we were there cleaning up around the finish area.  But goodness, the weather was AWFUL.  It started out fine but the temperature plummeted and the rain and wind just kept picking up.  By the end, I was honestly glad I didn’t run it!

We spent that afternoon doing some major house cleaning and we started working on the master bathroom (which is currently not in use… our house was a disaster when we bought it last year!)  We went to another friend’s house for dinner that night.  The host is from California and her parents send her fresh produce all the time.  That girl can cook!  I am always so impressed with her dishes!

We went to the early church service on Sunday and then I worked in the nursery for the later service.  In the afternoon we went to yet another friends house to pick up some plants they are trying to get rid of since they are moving. We came home with several strawberry, blackberry, raspberry, arctic kiwi, and blueberry plants.  I think we are all set for berries this summer, y’all.  So excited about this!!!

After that, the cats played in the Elite 8 against Michigan and WE DID IT AGAIN!  So it’s on to the Final Four!

As of today, I have been through 5 weeks of ED recovery.  I thought I’d do a little “mini progress check” rather than a whole post.  There will be some numbers posted here, just FYI.

  • I am still gaining weight – it does not seem to be slowing down.
  • I have gained an additional 3 lbs since my last progress check.  My BMI is now 21.5.
  • Extreme hunger is gone.  What I’ve noticed is that my amount of weight gain does not seem to correlate with my actual intake.  For example, I’ve had weeks where extreme hunger has caused me to eat waaaayyy above my minimums, and weeks where I seem to be right on my minimums.  Yet I still seem to gain about 2.5 or 3 lbs a week.  I am really starting to see evidence that what I’ve been reading on Your Eatopia is true!  There is no need to fear extreme hunger!

How do you feel about running or any other aerobic exercise for those who are recovering from an ED?  Can it be done in a healthful manner?

Any ideas or recipes with berries?  I am probably going to end up with tons all at once!

Also, follow me @sydwitz on Instagram!  My account is set to private but I will approve all my lovely blog readers!  My pics are mostly babies and food!

4 thoughts on “Weekend Musings + A Mini Progress Check

  1. Sounds like you’re making awesome progress lady! I’ve been skeptical about Your Eatopia stuff in the past, but the more I read the success stories, the more it makes sense to me.
    I think that anoerobic exercise can definitely be apart of life after an ED, but not when you’re trying to restore hormones – then your body needs all the rest and energy it can get. I understand how frustrating it is, believe me. I was so disappointed today because the weather was absolutely perfect for a run…and I took the pup for a nice long walk instead. I know I’ll get back to running and more intense exercise in the future though, just gotta take care of my body first.

    • It’s only been a little over a month but I already feel like I’ve come a long way! And yes, the Your Eatopia stuff was almost jaw-dropping to me at first. It took me a while before I decided to give it a chance. I think I agree that adding exercise at this point will only make my recovery take longer – and I am not a patient girl!

  2. Sounds like a full, happy weekend 🙂 ! By backing out of that race, it just shows that you are putting your health first..good on you Syd! I actually don’t miss intense exercise; life is intense enough as is. Maybe one day we’ll run..maybe we won’t feel like it..main thing is that we take care of ourselves through it all right?
    And isn’t it so good to know that we will never have to restrict again 🙂

    • Twas a full and happy weekend indeed! I can’t help but wonder about my “post-ED” future… who knows if I will even enjoy running anymore? Maybe I’ll find something else I love. Or maybe I’ll become an even better runner now that my body is healed? Only time can tell!

Leave a Reply

