7 Habits, 7 Notes #1

An important part of my recovery process involves the reading of Stephen Covey’s The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People.  Each day, I will take 7 important take-home messages to think about and relate to my own life experiences.  So without further ado, here are my first 7 notes!

  1. What we ARE communicates far more eloquently than anything we SAY or DO.
  2. A paradigm is the way we “see” the world – in terms of perceiving, understanding, and interpreting.  A “map” so to speak.
  3. To try and change outward attitudes and behaviors does very little good in the long run if we fail to examine the basic paradigms from which those attitudes and behaviors flow.
  4. Each of us thinks we see things as they are (objective).  But when we describe what we see, we are actually describing ourselves, our perceptions, and our paradigms.
  5. Our paradigms, correct or incorrect, are the sources of our attitudes and behaviors, and ultimately our relationships with others.
  6. If we want to make significant, quantum change, we need to work on our basic paradigms.  Paradigm shifts can be instantaneous or slow and deliberate.
  7. Paradigms are inseparable from character – “being is seeing.”

Thoughts & Ramblings:  In terms of my recovery, I really need to make an effort to redefine what beauty is and what health is.  I need to actively and deliberately change my paradigm.  I have experienced how my old paradigms have negatively affected my attitudes, behaviors, and relationships with others.  For example, I need to stop seeing food as the enemy.  I need to stop idolizing fitness and leanness.  Though right now I feel like I need to be focused on food for the sake of complete and permanent recovery, eventually I need to learn to trust my body and take the focus off food so that I can fully enjoy my time with family and friends.

Leave a Reply

